New head to ISB | Adi Godrej takes charge as Chairman of the Indian School of Business

Hyderabad, April 02: At the 49th Executive Board meeting of the Indian School of Business (ISB) today, the Board accepted the resignation of Mr Rajat Gupta, and unanimously elected Mr Adi Godrej as the second Chairman of the ISB, with immediate effect. In his new role, Adi Godrej will chair the board of ISB that comprises of many respected industrialists and philanthropists. The members of the Board provide overall strategic direction, to help the school attain its vision and mission. The day to day functioning of the school continues to be under the purview of the Dean and his team.

Making the announcement, Ajit Rangnekar, Dean, ISB said, “Adi has been closely associated with the ISB since its inception. Over the years, he has provided valuable guidance towards making ISB one of the largest management institutions in the world. As the Chairman of the Godrej Group, Adi has a strong reputation as a business leader and is committed to an inclusive India. We welcome Adi as our new Chairman.”

Elaborating on ISB’s future plans, he added, “India is going to be an important centre of global management education, and ISB will continue to groom leadership for the demands of a globalised world. We will continue to stay committed to our mission to create and disseminate research based knowledge, develop and enhance business leadership and to contribute to the welfare and development of the community.”

Accepting his role as the Chairman, ISB, Adi Godrej, said, “The ISB is in its tenth year, and we have every reason to feel proud, as it has truly taken flight. The ISB has never been stronger, and we are very confident about its future. I have always been proud to be part of this great institution of learning and am honored to take on the role of the Chairman.  I look forward to working along with the other esteemed board members and our Dean to help take ISB to greater heights.”

The announcement was made at the ISB campus on the occasion of its tenth Graduation Day.  The ceremony was graced by Chief Guest Dr. Judith Rodin, President, Rockefeller Foundation and Guest of Honour Sir Martin Sorrell, Chief Executive Officer, WPP Group and member of the ISB Governing Board. The Class of 2011 comprising 569 students will be awarded their Graduation certificates at the evening ceremony in the presence of families, friends, ISB Board members, faculty and well-wishers.

The ISB presented its ‘Scholar of Excellence’ award to Rajat Agarwal and Akshay Rajagopalan in recognition of their consistent, exceptional academic achievement over the entire programme. Atma Shivlanka was awarded the ‘Chairman’s Award for Excellence in Leadership’, given to the best all-rounder. 65 students whose grades were in the top 10% of the class were included in the Dean’s list. A total of 60 students were awarded the ISB Scholarship. Students of the Class of 2011 elected Professor Prashant Kale and Professor Piyush Kumar is ‘Professor of the Year’ for the Core and Elective terms respectively.

With the graduation of the Class of 2011, the school now has 3500+ Alumni spread across 25+ countries in a wide spectrum of sectors including Consulting, Finance, Real Estate, Media, Manufacturing, IT & ITES, Telecom, Pharmaceuticals, Automobile, Energy, Petroleum and NGOs, apart from over a 150 entrepreneurs across various sectors. Six ISB alums are currently pursuing their PhDs. The ISB Alumni Association comprises 7 domestic chapters and 4 overseas chapters.

Share this Post


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>