Hyderabad Central University -HCU- UoH and Srinivas Rayaprol Literary Trust invites entries for English Poetry Prize-2009

Hyderabad: English Poets have got an opportunity to test their literary skills at the Inaugural Srinivas Rayaprol Poetry prize- 2009 to be organized by The Department of English, University of Hyderabad and Srinivas Rayaprol Literary Trust. Entries are invited from all Indian citizens between 20-40 years old and have inkling towards writing poetry in English.
Further, the entries must include: Five different poems written by the applicant, Evidence of age and Contact information and should reach Dr. Aparna Rayaprol, Department of Sociology & Director, Study in India Program (SIP), University of Hyderabad, Hyderabad AP 500046 by September 1, 2009.
The Prize was instituted by the Srinivas Rayaprol Literary Trust to recognize excellence in poetry written in English and is being administered jointly by the Department of English, University of Hyderabad. The prize carries a cash award of Rs. 10,000/- and a citation which will be presented at a literary event in Hyderabad in October, 2009. The travel and accommodation of the awardee will be borne by the Organizers.
The Srinivas Rayaprol Literary Trust was started in the year 2000 to perpetuate the memory of the poet and also promote Indian writing in English. Srinivas Rayaprol (1925-1998), the son of the famous Telugu poet Rayaprolu Subba Rao, is considered one of the significant personalities of the early Indian English Poetry in India. His three major volumes of poetry are Bones and Distances, Married Love and Other Poems, and Selected Poems, all published by Writers’ Workshop in Calcutta. For further details kindly contact: Dr. Aparna Rayaprol, University of Hyderabad at 040-23132808  or rayaproltrust@gmail.com

 (Press Release)

Share this Post


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>